Posted by: Alexander Lapointe | September 5, 2006

What Second Life’s Theme Songs Should Be….

Update: Comments are now enabled. Of course, on the post where I’d like to hear from you all, WordPress, for some reason, takes the comments away. Weird.
I feel that these two songs embody what most of us think about Second Life and our love of it.


Second Skin by Widespread Panic

This is the season
These are the waking days
Tear off your wet sheets baby
Step out in the Soft Parade
Hollowed and glisten
Like sweat on a moving train
Baby, just listen
I’m about to be born again

Come down
This is your second skin
Surround
This is your second skin
This is your love inside
This is your fear you hide away

Maybe it’s a burden
Or maybe it’s nature’s gift
Feel the stretch and the burn
All the colors you’re working with
This moment
Maybe it’s time to choose
Real life is dreaming
Nothing but skin to lose

Come down
This is your second skin
Surround
This is your second skin
This is your love inside
Brought out into the light today

Now this is a story
Maybe it’s real
Maybe you glisten
Maybe time is still
This is a clean air
These are the shades we’re in
Real life is dreaming
This is your second skin

Come down
This is your second skin
Surround
This is your second skin
This is your love inside
This is your pride you hide away

Come down
This is your second skin
Surround
This is your second skin
This is fear and pride
Brought out into the light today

And the other:

Who Needs Sleep? by the Barenaked Ladies

Now I lay me down not to sleep
I just get tangled in the sheets
I swim in sweat three inches deep
Just lay back and claim defeat

Chapter read and lesson learned
I turned the lights off while she burned
So while she’s three hundred degrees
I throw the sheets off and I freeze

Lids down
I count sheep
I count heartbeats
The only thing that counts
Is that I won’t sleep
I count down
I look around

Who needs sleep?
Well you’re never gonna get it
Who needs sleep?
Tell me what’s that for
Who needs sleep?
Be happy with what you get
And there’s a guy that’s been awake since the second world war

Who needs sleep?
Well you’re never gonna get it
Who needs sleep?
Tell me what’s that for
Who needs sleep?
Be happy with what you get
And there’s a guy that’s been awake since the second world war

My hands are locked up tight in fists
My mind is racing filled with lists
Of things to do and things I’ve done
Another sleepless night’s begun

Lids down
I count sheep
I count heartbeats
The only thing that counts
Is that I won’t sleep
I count down
I look around

Who needs sleep?
Well you’re never gonna get it
Who needs sleep?
Tell me what’s that for
Who needs sleep?
Be happy with what you get
And there’s a guy that’s been awake since the second world war

Who needs sleep?
Well you’re never gonna get it
Who needs sleep?
Tell me what’s that for
Who needs sleep?
Be happy with what you get
And there’s a guy that’s been awake since the second world war

So much joy in life
So many pleasures all around
The pleasure of insomnia
Is one I’ve never found
With all life has to offer
There’s so much to be enjoyed
But the pleasures of insomnia are ones I can’t avoid

Lids down
I count sheep
I count heartbeats
The only thing that counts
Is that I won’t sleep
I count down
I look around

I’d love it if LL put played these on the splash page and while we log in, but that’s just me and my little opinion. Let me know what you think the theme song(s) of SL should be. :)

Responses

  1. Back in this post, I opined that the perfect theme would be the song “Pure Imagination” from the movie Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory. Click through to that post for the lyrics.

  2. Hi, thanks for sharing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

