Posted by: Alexander Lapointe | January 27, 2007

What happened?

So, it’s been a while since I’ve hit up the world of SL recently. The occasional five minute logins to get rid of notices don’t count. Come to think of it, I haven’t been in world for an hour minimum since around Dec. 30th.

Looking at a calender, it doesn’t seem to be that long of a time span, but I’ve noticed that for some reason SL and RL times don’t seem to like each other very much. Heck, when I had only been in world for three months (late September) I had already felt like I had spent more than a year there with the people I had met along the way.

Odd.

Back on track though, part of the absence has been due to a personal vacation that I took out to Montana (Much needed). The other part has been the beginnings of a burn-out feeling. At the current time, SL just doesn’t seem all that appealing to me and I can’t quite pin down why. And while that is happening, I start thinking of the one year payment I made for a subscription to SL and not wanting to waste it. Though one plus of that is, when you come back from not logging in for a while, you find a nice hefty balance of Lindens ripe for the spending.

So, I don’t know how often I’ll be in, but I really do hope that the enjoyment of SL comes back and soon.

In the meantime, I might give some other online multis a shot. I never really played them much until SL, but EVE Online has long been on my list to play and now some pals of mine are trying to convince me to give World of Warcraft a shot, but I’m kinda iffy on that. Then again there’s always the free text-based Iron Realms games, but I must find a way to avoid getting lost in that before diving back into it.

Responses

  1. Good to see you back-ish. :)

    WoW and EVE are both on my list of ‘games everyone should play, but should also quit’. Not a fan of text-based multiplayer games, but Achaea entertained me for a while too.

  2. Yeah, Achaea and I have an on and off again relationship. It mainly suffers from me not wanting to have to have ten windows open with maps just to find my way around the place. Right now, I’m downing the EVE client and going to give it a trial run.

  3. I found that SL now satisfies my need to grind through levels :)

  4. Yes, true, that’s what made me come to SL originally, however, as time has progressed, I’ve found myself spending all of my in-world time doing one of two things: Hanging at the Shelter or shopping solo. And to be quite frank, I’ve gotten uber-bored with that. I don’t really know what the cause is, well, I do know that it isn’t the people because I have had and continue to have some really interesting and sometimes mind-blowing convos with many of the people I’ve met at the Shelter. Yet, it may be the environ. I guess I feel that being in the same building most of the time just bores me to death. That’s also why I considered the move to Swinside to be wonderful because it changed the scenery, so to speak, and made me enjoy my time a bit more.

    One other thing that really pissed me off recently was the loss of my house. I took it into my inv from my land to re-position it and do some slight landscaping, but when I went to put it back out, it was gone from my inventory. I hadn’t logged out or crashed or anything, so I don’t know what happened. So, I contacted a Linden I had chatted with often and he basically said that they couldn’t do anything about it (which is what I excepted as a response). So, I contacted the builder of the home and for the past month have been unable to get a hold of them.

    At this point, I’ve purchased WoW and am in the middle of installing it. I’m planning on playing for the trial month and then seeing where that takes me. As for EVE, I’m planning on downloading that and giving it the 14 day shot. Achaea already has me hooked back in and interested.


Leave a Reply

Categories

