Posted by: Alexander Lapointe | February 28, 2007

Why? Why now?

Voice chat is coming to SL.

I can’t say that I’m happy. I don’t think that this will work particularly well in regular user use, educators maybe, but it’s going to be a huge problem in places like the Shelter. But I’m jumping to a conclusion there with that statement. What really bugs me about this is the fact that Linden Lab is doing this now instead of pushing all of their efforts into making the grid more stable.

I feel that every time I log into SL, I become a body-less walking set of prim attachments and it really bugs me.  It probably wouldn’t be so bad if the body texture/map/whatever the hell it’s called would eventually load, but it won’t. I once went to one of the vehicle testing grids while and left my avatar-less body there while I left and did about 4 hours of shopping and housework and when I came back, there I was, still standing, invisible, in a forest. Great.

Sure, maybe there will be some advantages to voice chat, but come on LL, could you please focus on making the growing grid a little more stable first? Please?

Responses

  1. […] greater concern to other people, such as Alexander Lapointe, is that LL seems to have its priorities inverted: What really bugs me about this is the fact that […]

  2. […] within the next few months.  It’s been interesting to read some of the responses ([1], [2], [3]), and to note Erbo Evans‘ mention of how it might be useful for Sanctuary’s Bible study […]

  3. […] Taking Another Look At Voice For the past two days, I’ve been trying out the new First Look Voice client and, accordingly, my views on voice have changed a little bit from what they were in this post. […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

